June 8
 

June 8

HERITAGE FESTIVAL #1
In partnership with KAYAFM

SOWETO Theatre

cnr Bolani Link and Bolani Rd,

Jabulani, Soweto, 1868, Afrique du Sud

BOMBSHELTER BEAST (SA)

Bombshelter Beast represents a unique approach to the South African sound and they charm their audiences across the board. It’s nothing you’ve ever experienced before, and yet it’s quite familiar: think of putting an Afrikaans opera singer, a Polish refugee playing the accordion, a UK-born kwaito star and SA’s most astute linguist rapping it up, and you have half the picture - the rest has to be experienced live!

Enter the family of bling brass players, sexy saxophones, rocking rhythm section; add multi-lingual rappers, dancing singers and superb storytellers - and prepare for the visual spectacle that is Bombshelter Beast! Instruments you’ve never seen before, African fabrics and safari suits, and a fusion genre-busting old school Kwaito & House, Drum ‘n Bass, Dancehall, Dub, Ska, Balkan, Boeremusiek, Hip Hop, Ghoema, Rock, and the odd sneaky bit of Jazz – all peppered with badass rapping & live improvisations.

DJEUHDJOAH & LIEUTENANT NICHOLSON (FR)

A singing and enchanting duo, DjeuhDjoah & Lieutenant Nicholson navigate French song between jazz, afrobeat, soul, funk, electro and reggae.

After a first album "T'es qui?" released in 2015 and re-released a year later under the title "Remets T'es qui?", they return in the fall of 2019 with their second album "Aimez ces airs" including "El Niño", a funky jewelry about global warming and "Fontaine", an Afrotube whose theme should not remain secret for long.

COTONETE (FR)

In 2005, Frank Chatona and Florian Pellissier created Cotonete with the barely secret dream of playing 70's funk in Brazil. The repertoire includes hits from Herbie Hancock and JB's to Deodato and Banda Black Rio, reinterpreted in an unstoppable groove, sometimes funky, sometimes laidback. On drums David Georgelet, bass Jean-Claude Kebaili, guitar Farid Baha, trombone Benoit Giffard, trumpets Christophe Elliot Touzalin and Paul Bouclier (also on percussion), Pellissier on keyboards, and Chatona on saxes.

 

They finally released their first album "Super-Villains" under the aegis of Melik Bencheikh (Heartbeat Vinyl/Heavenly Sweetness) in February 2019 and are now preparing the release of their album with the famous singer Di Melo to be released on Favourite Records in late May.

NUDUDUZO MAKHATHINI (SA)

Nduduzo Makhathini is a South African jazz musician from Umgungundlovu, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa. Coming from a musical family, his love for music began at an early age. Makhathini has performed with Zim Ngqawana, Feya Feku, McCoy Mrubata. Nduduzo completed his Diploma in Jazz Piano in 2005. Makhathini is the recipient of the 2015 Standard Bank Young Artist Award in the category of Jazz.This is part of the National Arts Festival. At the 2017 All Africa Music Awards, Makhathini won the Best Jazz Artist award.  

COOL AFFAIR (SA)

This young South African artist is one of the most creative and prolific producers in recent years.A young, extremely talented, dynamic and energetic Electro Jazz Music Producer, sound engineer and DJ, who was ‘born into the rhythms of the new South Africa’.

Largely self-taught, he grew up surrounded by music with his father being one of Mozambique’s top sound engineers, and being a sound engineer himself, he has mixed for the finest jazz musicians from across the country and internationally, gaining invaluable experience.

Cool Affair can be counted on, not only as a producer and a natural master in sound, but also a brilliant DJ, who plays keyboard harmonies alongside his electro beats, creating ‘live production sets’.

“The sun can only shine brighter when Cool Affair (born Junior Ntombela) is around.

ALPHA & OLMEGA (SA)

Coming from the lively township, Soweto,  Xolani Dlamini and Vusi Chirwa make up the talented duo known as Alpha & Olmega. 

With music in their blood, they started at an early age, discovering their producing skills while playing around with their computer in one of their friend’s bedrooms, where locals would gather and perform with live instruments and percussion and their enthusiasm for house music grew from there.

 

Alpha & Olmega kicked off a new chapter in 2010, when Louie Vega released “Mad Styles & Crazy Visions 2 - A Journey Into Electronic, Soulful, Afro & Latino Rhythms Compiled And Mixed by Louie Vega”; and with their remix of Paul Deep’s ‘Alafia feat. Sheyi (Alpha & Olmega’s Ethnic Vocal Mix)’ on this powerful compilation, came a whole new world of acclaim…extending their following beyond SA’s soulful house scene, making its way into the sets of many soulful deep house, techno and minimal DJ as well.

 

As performers, Alpha & Olmega are dynamic! Usually accompanied by musicians [horn players, percussionists and more..] and their synergy and vibrant energy is infectious! 

THE MOOSES (CAN)

DJ Kobal, Don Mescal and DJ Mks have left their mark on Montreal's musical landscape with their warm and festive evenings. From electro-swing to afrobeat and Brazilian bossa, they demonstrate the extra-large artistic and cultural panel that Canada offers today.

 

DJ NICKY B (SA)

 Nicky B has been showcasing African world music for over 20 years. A complete artist, but also a journalist and lecturer, Nicky B is an active figure on the South African scene. She shares her passion, which comes from the authentic blend of her country. 

DJ ONLY TLOU (SA)

Formerly known as The Pencil Boy, Only Tlou is a South African DJ, Afrika Motion (Label) artist and Kaya FM radio show host.

He has been active in music for almost a decade, with residencies and appearances from Cape Town all the way to Miami.

He has music available right now on Beatport, iTunes and Traxource from labels: HEAVY (USA), Monkey Fish (SA) and Afrika Motion (UK).

  • Twitter Icône sociale
  • Facebook Social Icône
  • Icône social Instagram
Un festival signé BL Productions | Site internet et graphisme par Dominique Milherou agence www.petit-carnet.com

JOBURG
8 juin 2019
 

8 juin 2019

HERITAGE FESTIVAL #1
En association avec KAYAFM

Théâtre de SOWETO

cnr Bolani Link and Bolani Rd,

Jabulani, Soweto, 1868, Afrique du Sud

BOMBSHELTER BEAST (SA)

Bombshelter Beast représente une approche unique du son sud-africain et séduit tous les publics. Ce n'est rien que vous n'ayez jamais vu auparavant, et pourtant c'est bien connu : pensez à mettre un chanteur d'opéra afrikaans, un réfugié polonais jouant de l'accordéon, une star du kwaito née au Royaume-Uni et le linguiste le plus malin de SA en train de rapper, et vous avez la moitié du tableau - le reste doit être vécu en direct !

 

Entrez dans la famille des cuivres, des saxophones sexy, de la section rythmique rock ; ajoutez des rappeurs multilingues, des chanteurs dansants et de superbes conteurs - et préparez-vous pour le spectacle visuel que représente Bombshelter Beast ! Des instruments que vous n'avez jamais vus auparavant, des tissus africains et des costumes de safari, ainsi qu'un Kwaito & House, Drum'n Bass, Dancehall, Dub, Ska, Balkan, Boeremusiek, Hip Hop, Ghoema, Rock, et un peu de Jazz, tous parsemés de rappeurs-boudins et d'improvisations live. 

DJEUHDJOAH & LIEUTENANT NICHOLSON (FR)

Duo chantant et enchantant, DjeuhDjoah & Lieutenant Nicholson font naviguer la chanson française entre jazz, afrobeat, soul, funk, electro et reggae.

Après un premier album « T’es qui ? » sorti en 2015 et réédité un an plus tard sous le titre « Remets T’es qui ? », ils reviennent à l’automne 2019 avec leur second opus « Aimez ces airs » dont « El Niño », pépite funky à propos du réchauffement climatique et « Fontaine », afrotube dont le thème ne devrait pas rester longtemps secret.

NUDUDUZO MAKHATHINI (SA)

Ndududuzo Makhathini est un musicien de jazz sud-africain originaire de Umgungundlovu, Pietermaritzburg, Afrique du Sud. Issu d'une famille de musiciens, son amour pour la musique a commencé très tôt. Makhathini a joué avec Zim Ngqawana, Feya Feku, McCoy Mrubata. Ndududuzo a obtenu son diplôme en piano jazz en 2005. Makhathini est le récipiendaire du Prix du jeune artiste de la Standard Bank 2015 dans la catégorie Jazz, dans le cadre du Festival national des arts, et du Prix de la musique africaine 2017, Makhathini a remporté le prix du meilleur artiste de jazz. 

COOL AFFAIR (SA)

Ce jeune artiste sud-africain est l'un des plus grands artistes d'Afrique du Sud. Un jeune, extrêmement talentueux, dynamique et énergique producteur de musique électro-jazz, ingénieur du son et DJ, qui est "né dans les rythmes de la nouvelle Afrique du Sud".

On peut compter sur Cool Affair, non seulement en tant que producteur et maître naturel du son, mais aussi en tant que DJ brillant, qui joue des harmonies au clavier aux côtés de ses rythmes électro, créant des'live production sets'.

"Le soleil ne peut briller plus fort que lorsque Cool Affair (né Junior Ntombela) est là.

ALPHA & OLMEGA (SA)

Venus du township, Soweto, Xolani Dlamini et Vusi Chirwa forment le talentueux duo Alpha & Olmega. 

Avec la musique dans le sang, ils ont commencé très tôt à découvrir leurs talents de producteurs en jouant avec leur ordinateur dans la chambre d'un ami, où les gens du coin se réunissaient et se produisaient avec des instruments live et des percussions et où leur enthousiasme pour la musique house s'est développé.

 

Alpha & Olmega a ouvert un nouveau chapitre en 2010, lorsque Louie Vega a sorti "Mad Styles & Crazy Visions 2 - A Journey Into Electronic, Soulful, Afro & Latino Rhythms Compiled And Mixed by Louie Vega" ; et avec leur remix du titre de Paul Deep'Alafia feat. Sheyi (Alpha & Olmega's Ethnic Vocal Mix)' sur cette compilation puissante, est venu un tout nouveau monde d'acclamation....étendant leur public au-delà de la scène soul house de SA, faisant son chemin dans les sets de nombreux DJ deep house, techno et minimal soul.

 

En tant qu'artistes, Alpha & Olmega sont dynamiques ! Habituellement accompagnés de musiciens (cornistes, percussionnistes et autres...) et leur synergie et leur énergie vibrante sont contagieuses ! 

THE MOOSES (CAN)

DJ Kobal, Don Mescal et DJ Mks ont marqué le paysage musical de Montréal avec leurs soirées chaleureuses et festives. De l’electro-swing à l’afrobeat en passant par le bossa brésilien, ils démontrent le panel artistique et culturel extra large que propose aujourd’hui le Canada.

 

DJ NICKY B (SA)

 Nicky B met en valeur les musiques du monde africain depuis plus de 20 ans. Artiste complète mais aussi journaliste et conférencière, Nicky B est une figure active de la scène sud-africaine. Elle partage sa passion, issue du mélange authentique de son pays. 

DJ ONLY TLOU (SA)

Anciennement connu sous le nom de The Pencil Boy, Only Tlou est un DJ sud-africain, artiste d'Afrika Motion (Label) et animateur de l'émission radio Kaya FM.

Il est actif dans la musique depuis près d'une décennie, avec des résidences et des apparitions depuis Cape Town jusqu'à Miami.

Il a de la musique disponible actuellement sur Beatport, iTunes et Traxource des labels : HEAVY (USA), Monkey Fish (SA) et Afrika Motion (UK).

  • Twitter Icône sociale
  • Facebook Social Icône
  • Icône social Instagram
Un festival signé BL Productions | Site internet et graphisme par Dominique Milherou agence www.petit-carnet.com