paris-1836415_1920.jpg
DECO-5.png
Digital
edition

 

Professional meeting, music, movie, talk between artists and professionals

May 27
8pm

Mix ta race  in Sudan :
10 years of the Arab revolutions

DECO-4.png


TALK PRESENTATION 

Discussion around the event of June 14 Mix Ta Race in Sudan with the organizers, programmers and producers of the event. From the genesis of the project to the realization in time of Pandemic Covid 19. With Jeremie Fontaine, aka Jeremie (Mix ta race), Hind Meddeb (film director), Dorothée Engel (Programmer of the Institute of the Arab World in France) and animated by  Benjamin Levy (director of PNYH).


 

STAKEHOLDERS

Logo Jeudi du PNYH.png
France.png

Hind Meddeb | (Paris) grew up between France, Morocco and Tunisia, her two countries of origin. From this flow between cultures and langages, she develops a singular look of the world. In her documentaries, she observes all forms of resistance to the order established by filming on the side those who revolt. In her approach of the Arab and African world, she seeks to undo the prejudices that clog the western imagination. Between 2011 and 2013, at the time of the Arab Spring, she realizes Tunisia Clash and Electro Chaabi, two feature-length documentaries about musical creation as a revolutionary act. Her latest movie, Paris Stalinfrad restores the path of refugees who arrive in Paris, reduced to survive on Fortune Camp (selected at the "Cinéma du Réel" and at the Toronto International Festival). She is currently working on the writing of a new movie in Sudan, "Nos voix, nos armes" ("Our voices, our weapons"), a long-term portrait of Sudanese youth determined to conquer her freedom. 

France.png

Dorothée Engel | (Paris)  German, born in Beirut in 1960, Dorothée Engel is forced to leave Lebanon at the beginning of the civil war in 1975. Then, she moved to Syria where she finished her studies in a French high school. Later, in Strasbourg, crossroads between Germany and France, she study Arabic, anthropology and history of theater. Since 1985, she has been involved in the programming and the organization of cultural events at the Arab World Institute in Paris, including Arabofolies, which is a musical festival of arts and ideas.

Dorothée Engel.jpg
France.png

Benjamin Levy |  (Paris) He began his career in 1997 by working for the Nice Jazz Festival. Then, he worked during 5 years for the JVC Jazz Festival of Paris with Loop Production. He has also been a press officer in specialized radios of the Columbia label and has worked at Sony Music. In 200, he creates the first festival - electronic hip-hop- of Paris, L'Assymetric Contest, on the quays of the Seine in Paris. He then joined for 6 years, an agency and worked among others with James Brown, Kool and the Gang, Earth Winf and Fire, George Clinton and Toué Kunda or Magma, Roy Ayers, Fred Wesley, Lonnie Liston Smith. In 2006, he created and produced the Groove and Funky Nights, series of concerts gathering some of the soul legends such as Isaac Hayes, Georges Clinton, Gwen McCrea, Roy Ayers. He became a specialist of the African American music and created the booking and production agency BL Music. The agency produces tours of french and international artists in France and around the world. He also produces the Paris New York Heritage Festival on 3 continents and 6 countries. The leitmotiv of Benjamin is to look for artists that have marked the history of African American music and bring them up-to-date. He also takes new artists who claimed this heritage.

France.png

Jérémie Fontaine, aka Jeremix | (Paris) Movie Director, producer and organizer of the events Mix ta Race. His sense of humour mix up various identities. The expression Mix ta Race is incarnated in music and live to illustrate a new vision of the fraternity that is both popular and engaged. The events Mix ta Race are creations gathering artists from different horizons and universes around themes, personalities or destinations (the Tunisian revolution, the commemoration of the abolition of slavery, Gaël Faye and wild women, the Francosphere, Sudan and the 10 years of the Arab revolutions...). These creations are often related to news and allows artists to meet spontaneously, to collaborate and share the same scene at a single concert (about fifteen editions since 2012). #wearetogether #mixology

Jérémie Fontaine.jpg

Replay

 

June 3
8pm

Cultural appropriation 
Human(u)nity #2

TALK PRESENTATION 

A discussion between 4 major figures of the international music programming world. 3 countries and fabulous women, an inspiring example of female success.
We will ask them how they deal with the issue of cultural appropriation in their radio and concert programming. 



STAKEHOLDERS

Logo Jeudi du PNYH.png

Nicky B | (Johannesburg) Producer of the World Wide Show Kaya FM since 1997

She is a specialist, cultural activist, educator, she is a highly respected and experienced DJ and music specialist. She is also a producer, compiler, writer, educator and for the past 23 years she has been the producer and presenter of "The World Show" on Johannesburg-based radio station KayaFM 95.9 since 1997. As a DJ, she is very popular and in demand in South Africa.

.

Afrique du Sud.png
NIcky B.png
USA.png

Erika Elliott | (New-York) director and artistic director of the SummerStage Festival

 

She is is the artistic director of Summerstage in New York, one of the largest festivals that takes place in most of the park in New York. For 25 years, she has fought to bring diversity to Her programming. She is one of the most respected women in the US music world.

City Parks Foundation is the largest presenter of free Arts and Culture in New York City, annually presenting over 100 free programs including 30+ performances at SummerStage in Central Park, three months of programming citywide at SummerStage Citywide, and family programs, serving all five boroughs as well as the annual 3 day Charlie Parker Jazz Festival. Additionally she is responsible for the oversight of the Swedish Marionette Theatre in Central Park programming Marionette shows. Ms. Elliott is responsible for the overall artistic vision of all the Arts programming, as well as developing larger thematic seasonal celebrations, and commissions. Additionally she leads the digital content creation for the multiplatform SummerStage Anywhere broadcasts.

Erika Elliot .png
USA.png

Paula Abreu | (New-York) Associate Director of programming for the SummerStage Festival

She is responsible for curating the international and jazz program at SummerStage, including the Cesária Évora Orchestra, Mayra Andrade and Dino D'Santiago, and the legendary Brazilian singer Elza Soares in the United States. Prior to SummerStage, Paula worked at the Red Hot Organization and Lincoln Center.

1517892200332.jpg

Rainbow Robert | (Vancouver)  head of artistic TD Jazz Festival

She is in charge of Td Jazz Festival Vancouver and Jazz Festival Canada, a national network of Canadian jazz festivals. she has been able to put forward mixed, international, native and jazz programming from around the world. She is a key figure in the world of jazz music industry.

Canada.png
Rainbow Robert.png
France.png

Benjamin Levy |  (Paris) He began his career in 1997 by working for the Nice Jazz Festival. Then, he worked for 5 years for the JVC Jazz Festival of Paris with Loop Production. He has also been a press officer in specialized radios of the Columbia label and has worked at Sony Music. In 200, he created the first festival - electronic hip-hop- of Paris, L'Assymetric Contest, on the quays of the Seine in Paris. He then joined, for 6 years, an agency and worked among others with James Brown, Kool and the Gang, Earth Winf and Fire, George Clinton and Toué Kunda or Magma, Roy Ayers, Fred Wesley, Lonnie Liston Smith. In 2006, he created and produced the Groove and Funky Nights, a series of concerts gathering some of the soul legends such as Isaac Hayes, Georges Clinton, Gwen McCrea, Roy Ayers. He became a specialist of the African American music and created the booking and production agency BL Music. The agency produces tours of french and international artists in France and around the world. He also produces the Paris New York Heritage Festival on 3 continents and 6 countries. The leitmotif of Benjamin is to look for artists that have marked the history of African American music and bring them up-to-date. He also takes on new artists who claim this heritage.

Trailer

Replay

 

May 6
8pm

Musical meeting  
between 
Samian and La Chica

In collaboration with the Canadian Cultural Center. An unprecedented meeting between the aboriginal slam Samian and the Franco-Venezuelan singer La Chica, animated by Louis-Philippe Labrèche, chief editor of the auditory canal.

5 edition-35.png
venezuela.png

La Chica | Her real name is Sophie Fustec. She is a Franco-Venezuelan singer who grew up between the Belleville district in Paris and Latin America. She mixes through her colorful and rythmic music, her two ascendants. Her songs are urbans, multicultural and contemporary. She writes her songs in spanish. La Chica quotes as influence and inspiration, Nina Simone, The Beatles, Radiohead, M.I.A., Danger Doom, Debussy... Her songs ar marked by a spiritual dimension and her visuals borrow surreal and psychedelic elements. Her favorites instruments are the piano and the keyboards.

Samian | His real name is Samuel Tremblay, he was born in Amos, Quebec. He is a canadian rappel of the Abitibiwinni First Nation. He ... both in French and in Algonquin. It is in Quebec that he begins his career, then its success leads him to perform in many Canadian cities from coast to coast. He is also known on the international scene, which allows him among other things to perform in Europe, including France, Spain, Finland, but also in the Asian continent, in China. 

Canada.png

May 25
8pm

Documentary Innu Nikamu 

Centre Culturel Canadien.png

Projection of the documentary Innu Nikamu online

5 edition-37.png
Affiche documentaire Innu Nikamu.jpg
 
 

May 26
8pm

Musical meeting between Shauit and Wachmn’hit

Description of the event | WHen we think about Innue or Morocan culture, we do not necessarily think of reggae. Shauit and Wachmn’hit met on this artistic field without knowing that they had a lot more in common. Exchange, get to know each other and create together a music that make you travel as much in the rich innue Aboriginal culture of Quebec that in the vast Moroccan universe has become obvious for these artists.

5 edition-36.png

Shauit  | He was born in Maliotenam in northeastern Quebec. Singer-songwriter Shauit sings in Innu, his native language and in French. He made his debut at the Innu Nikamu festival at the age of 21 and continues to share the language of his ancestors around the world. Fusing traditional Innu music with folk and reggae, he demonstrates the ability of the Innu to appropriate new musical styles by making their language resonate in a surprising way in songs that are honest, committed, and full of emotion and personal experiences.

 

Canada.png
Shauit.jpg
Maroc.jpg

Wachmn’hit  | Moroccan reggae group composed of 7 musicians ranging from the influence of their idols, the Wailers, to their closest influence, the Gnawas. The group is committed to developing a new component of Moroccan musical heritage, while cultivating their commitment on lyrics that speak directly to Moroccans and to sharing this culture with the rest of the world.

Wachmn’hit.png
 

June 9
8pm

Musical meeting between Iskwē and Vikken

Centre Culturel Canadien.png

Description of the event | An original musical encounter between two artists with brilliant and committed universes, Iskwē and Vikken for the month of Pride.

5 edition-36.png

 Iskwē | Manitoba artist, urban Aboriginal two-spirit from the Red River Valley, birthplace of the Métis Nation.

2.png

Vikken | Transdisciplinary artist of the electro scene who created in 2019 his first eponymous solo project. Between ambient-pop and electro, Vikken tackles the themes of identity, questioning norms, in a form not very borrowed.

1.png
 

From June 14 to June 18

B to B Session in partnership with Global Toronto

delegation from South Africa, France and the United States of America, will be invited on the PNYH stand during the Global Festival of Toronto for professional meeting in B to B. 

global-toronto.jpg

paris-1836415_1920.jpg
FOND-PNYF-2021-3.png
DECO-2.png
DECO-5.png
ÉDITION
DIGITALE
7.png

Rencontre pro, musique, film, talk entre artistes
et professionnelles 

TERRE.png
6.png

27 mai

20h

Mix ta race  au Soudan :
Les 10 ans des révolutions Arabes

DECO-4.png


PRÉSENTATION DU TALK

Discussion autour de l’événement du 14 juin Mix Ta Race au Soudan en présence des organisateurs, programmateurs, et producteurs de l’événement. De la genèse du projet à la réalisation en temps de pandémie Covid 19. En présence de Jéremie Fontaine, aka jeremix (Mix ta Race), Hind Meddeb (réalisatrice), Dorothée Engel (programmatrice de l’Institut du Monde Arabe) et animé par Benjamin Levy (directeur du PNYH).

 

LES INTERVENANTS

Talk online tous les jeudis.png
France.png

Hind Meddeb | Paris) a grandi entre la France, le Maroc et la Tunisie, ses deux pays d’origine. De cette circulation entre les cultures et les langues, elle développe un regard singulier sur le monde. Dans ses films documentaires, elle observe toutes les formes de résistance à l’ordre établi en filmant du côté de ceux qui se révoltent.  Dans son approche du monde arabe et africain, elle cherche à défaire les préjugés qui obstruent l’imaginaire occidental. Entre 2011 et 2013, à l’heure du printemps arabe, elle réalise Tunisia Clash et Electro Chaabi deux longs métrages documentaires sur la création musicale comme acte révolutionnaire. Son dernier film, Paris Stalingrad reconstitue le parcours des réfugiés qui arrivent à Paris, réduits à survivre sur des campements de fortune (sélectionné à « Cinéma du Réel » et au Festival International de Toronto). Elle travaille actuellement sur l’écriture d’un nouveau film au Soudan, Nos voix, nos armes, portrait au long cours d’une jeunesse soudanaise déterminée à conquérir sa liberté.

Hind Meddeb.png
France.png

Dorothée Engel | (Paris)  Allemande, née à Beyrouth en 1960, Dorothée Engel est contrainte de quitter le Liban au début de la guerre civile en 1975. Elle s’installe ensuite en Syrie où elle termine sa scolarité dans un lycée français. Puis à Strasbourg, carrefour entre l’Allemagne et la France, elle étudie l’arabe, l’anthropologie et l’histoire du théâtre. Depuis 1985, elle participe à la programmation et à l’organisation d’événements culturels à l’Institut du monde arabe, et notamment aux Arabofolies, festival musical des arts et des idées.

Dorothée Engel.jpg
France.png

Benjamin Levy | (Paris)  Il débute sa carrière en 1997 en travaillant pour le Nice Jazz Festival. Puis pendant 5 ans pour le JVC Jazz Festival de Paris avec Loop production. Il sera également attaché de presse dans des radios spécialisées du label Columbia et travaille chez Sony Music. En 2000, il Crée le premier festival - hip-hop électronique de Paris, L’Assymetric Contest, sur les quaies de Paris. Il intègre ensuite pendant 6 ans, une agence et travaille entre autres avec James Brown, Kool and the Gang, Earth Wind and Fire , George Clinton et Touré Kunda ou encore Magma, Roy Ayers , Fred Wesley , Lonnie Liston Smith . En 2006 il crée et produits les Groove and Funky Nights, séries de concerts regroupant certains des légendes de la soul comme Isaac Hayes, Georges Clinton, Gwen McCrea, Roy Ayers. Devenu spécialiste des musiques afro-américaines il crée l’agence de booking et de production BL Music. L'agence produit des tournées d'artistes français et internationaux en France et dans le Monde. Il produit aussi le festival Paris New York Heritage Festival sur 3 continents, et 6 pays. Le leitmotiv de Benjamin est de chercher les artistes qui ont marqués l'histoire de la musique Afro Américaine et les remettre au gout du jours. Nous accompagnons aussi de nouveaux artistes qui se revendique de cet heritage.

Benjamin-Levy.jpg
France.png

Jérémie Fontaine, aka Jeremix | (Paris) Réalisateur, producteur et organisateur des évènements Mix ta Race. Pied-de-nez humoristique aux identitaires de tous bords, l'expression Mix ta Race s'incarne en musique et en live pour illustrer une nouvelle vision de la fraternité qui soit à la fois populaire et engagée. Les évènements Mix ta Race sont des créations réunissant des artistes d'horizons et d'univers différents autour de thèmes, de personnalités ou de destinations (la révolution tunisienne, la commémoration de l'abolition de l'esclavage, Gaël Faye et les Femmes sauvages, la Francosphère, le Soudan et les 10 ans des révolutions arabes...). Ces créations sont souvent liées à l'actualité et permettent aux artistes de se rencontrer spontanément, de collaborer et de partager une même scène lors d'un concert unique (une quinzaine d'éditions depuis 2012). #onestensemble #mixology

Jérémie Fontaine.jpg

Replay

 
6.png

3 juin

20h

Appropriation culturelle
Human(u)nity #2

PRÉSENTATION DU TALK

Quelle est la position des programmateurs,  journalistes, producteurs, qui travaillent avec toutes les cultures face à l’appropriation culturelle : est-elle un danger ? un richesse ? Une discussion transversale avec 4 femmes majeures dans l’industrie mondiale des musiques mixées. Un échange entre 3 figures majeures de 3 continents  : Afrique, Europe, Amérique du Nord. Human(u)nity ? En présence de Nicky B (Afrique du sud, journaliste historique de KayaFm) , Erika Elliot et Paula Abreu (partenaires du PNYH New York) , Rainbow Robert (partenaire du PNYH Vancouver) 



LES INTERVENANTS

Talk online tous les jeudis.png

Nicky B | (Johannesbourgest co-directrice  du festival PNYH Johannesbourg. Spécialiste de la musique, activiste culturelle, éducatrice, elle est une DJ et spécialiste de la musique très respectée et expérimentée. Elle est également productrice, compilatrice, écrivaine, éducatrice et depuis 23 ans, elle est la productrice et présentatrice de « The World Show» sur la station de radio KayaFM 95.9 basée à Johannesburg depuis 1997. En tant que DJ, elle est très populaire et très demandée en Afrique du Sud.

Afrique du Sud.png
NIcky B.png
USA.png

Erika Elliott | (New-York) Actuellement directrice artistique du festival Summerstage de la Fondation City Parks ayant lieu dans plusieurs parcs de New York pendant 3mois. Depuis plus de 30 ans elle est l’une des plus anciennes directrice artistique. Au cours des 25 dernières années, elle a occupé divers rôles, elle est aujourd’hui directrice de l’ensemble des directrices artistiques du festival. C’est l’une des femmes les plus respectés de la programmation.

Erika Elliot .png
USA.png

Paula Abreu | (New-York) Directrice associée de la programmation de SummerStage, elle a passé plus d’une décennie à programmer des spectacles et des festivals, diversifiant ses projets avec un large éventail d’événements internationaux avant-gardistes. Chez SummerStage, elle est responsable de la programmation des programmes musicaux axés sur les performances mondiales et de jazz, y compris des projets mémorables tels que la première programmation entièrement capverdienne au festival, avec l'orchestre Cesária Évora, Mayra Andrade et Dino D'Santiago, la légendaire chanteuse brésilienne Elza Soares aux États-Unis. Avant SummerStage, Paula a travaillé à la Red Hot Organization et au Lincoln Center, et a souhaité poursuivre une carrière dans les arts après avoir travaillé sur un projet d'entreprise pendant six mois en Angola. Elle est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des arts du spectacle de NYU. De Rio de Janeiro, Abreu a élu domicile à New York depuis 2010.

1517892200332.jpg

Rainbow Robert |(Vancouver) Responsable de la programmation artistique au festival international de Jazz de Vancouver et directrice artistique du JFC (« Jazz Festival Canada »), réseau national des festivals de Jazz Canadien. Après avoir fait son apprentissage chez Pickering pendant la majeure partie de sa vie d’adulte, suivie d’un an à la tête du Guelph Jazz Festival.

Canada.png
Rainbow Robert.png
France.png

Benjamin Levy | (Paris) Il débute sa carrière en 1997 en travaillant pour le Nice Jazz Festival. Puis pendant 5 ans pour le JVC Jazz Festival de Paris avec Loop production. Il sera également attaché de presse dans des radios spécialisées du label Columbia et travaille chez Sony Music. En 2000, il Crée le premier festival - hip-hop électronique de Paris, L’Assymetric Contest, sur les quaies de Paris. Il intègre ensuite pendant 6 ans, une agence et travaille entre autres avec James Brown, Kool and the Gang, Earth Wind and Fire , George Clinton et Touré Kunda ou encore Magma, Roy Ayers , Fred Wesley , Lonnie Liston Smith . En 2006 il crée et produits les Groove and Funky Nights, séries de concerts regroupant certains des légendes de la soul comme Isaac Hayes, Georges Clinton, Gwen McCrea, Roy Ayers. Devenu spécialiste des musiques afro-américaines il crée l’agence de booking et de production BL Music. L'agence produit des tournées d'artistes français et internationaux en France et dans le Monde. Il produit aussi le festival Paris New York Heritage Festival sur 3 continents, et 6 pays. Le leitmotiv de Benjamin est de chercher les artistes qui ont marqués l'histoire de la musique Afro Américaine et les remettre au gout du jours. Nous accompagnons aussi de nouveaux artistes qui se revendique de cet heritage.

Benjamin-Levy.jpg

Bande Annonce

Replay

 
6.png

6 mai

20h

Rencontre musicale entre Samian x La Chica

En collaboration avec le Centre Culturel Canadien. Une rencontre inédite entre le slameur autochtone Samian et la chanteuse franco-vénézuélienne La Chica, animée par Louis-Philippe Labrèche, rédacteur chef de Le Canal auditif.

5 edition-35.png
venezuela.png

La Chica | de son vrai nom Sophie Fustec, est une chanteuse franco-vénézuélienne  qui a grandi entre le quartier de Belleville à Paris et l’Amérique Latine. Elle mêle, à travers sa musique colorée et rythmée, ces deux ascendants. Ses morceaux, qui se veulent urbains, pluriculturels et contemporains. Elle les écrit et les chante en espagnol. La Chica cite, en tant qu'influences et inspirations, Nina Simone, The Beatles, Radiohead, M.I.A., Danger Doom, Debussy... Ses chansons sont marquées par une dimension spirituelle et ses visuels emprunts d'éléments surréalistes et psychédéliques. Ses instruments de prédilection sont le piano et les claviers.

l’événement rencontre musicale 6 mai la

Samian | de son vrai nom Samuel Tremblay, né à Amos, au Québec est un rappeur canadien de la Première Nation Abitibiwinni. Il rappe à la fois en français et en algonquin. C'est au Québec qu'il commence sa carrière, puis son succès l'amène à offrir des prestations dans de nombreuses villes canadiennes, d'un océan à l'autre. Il se fait aussi connaître sur la scène internationale ce qui lui permet entre autres de se produire en Europe, en France, en Espagne et en Finlande, mais aussi sur le continent asiatique, en Chine.

Canada.png
l’événement rencontre musicale 6 mai Sam
6.png

25 mai

20h

Documentaire Innu Nikamu 

Centre Culturel Canadien.png

Projection du documentaire Innu Nakamu en ligne

Documentaire.png
Affiche documentaire Innu Nikamu.jpg
 
 
6.png

26 mai

20h

Rencontre musicale entre Shauit et Wachmn’hit

La description de l’événement | Quand on pense culture Innue ou culture marocaine on ne pense pas forcément Reggae. Shauit et Wachmn’hit se sont rencontrés sur ce terrain artistique sans savoir qu’ils avaient beaucoup plus en commun. Échanger, apprendre à se connaître et créer ensemble une musique qui fait voyager autant dans la riche culture autochtone innue du Québec que dans le vaste univers marocain est devenue une évidence pour ces artistes.

5 edition-35.png

Shauit  | Originaire de Maliotenam dans le Nord-Est du Québec, l’auteur-compositeur-interprète Shauit chante en innu, sa langue autochtone et en français. Il a débuté au festival Innu Nikamu à l’âge de 21 ans et il ne cesse de partager la langue de ses ancêtres à travers le monde. Fusionnant la musique traditionnelle innue avec le folk et le reggae, il démontre particulièrement bien la capacité des Innus de s’approprier de nouveaux styles musicaux en y faisant résonner leur langue de façon surprenante dans des chansons honnêtes, engagées, remplies d’émotions et d’expériences personnelles.

Canada.png
Shauit.jpg
Maroc.jpg

Wachmn’hit  | Groupe de reggae marocain composé de 7 musiciens allant de l’influence de leurs idoles, les Wailers, à celle, plus proche, des Gnawas. Le groupe veille à développer une nouvelle composante du patrimoine musical marocain, tout en cultivant leur engagement au niveau des paroles qui s’adressent directement aux Marocains et au partage de cette culture au reste du monde.

Wachmn’hit.png
 
6.png

9 juin
21h

Rencontre musicale entre Iskwē et Vikken

Centre Culturel Canadien.png

La description de l’événement | Rencontre musicale inédite entre deux artistes aux univers brillants et engagé Iskwē et Vikken pour le mois des Fiertés.

5 edition-35.png

Iskwē | Artiste manitobaine, bispirituelle autochtone urbaine de la Red River Valley, berceau de la nation métisse.

2.png

Vikken | Artiste transdisciplinaire de la scène électro qui crée en 2019 son premier projet solo éponyme. Entre ambiant-pop et électro, Vikken aborde les thèmes de l’identité, du questionnement des normes, sous une forme peu empruntée.

1.png
 
6.png

14 au 18 juin

B to B Session en partenariat avec le Global Toronto

Une délégation d’Afrique du sud de France des États-Unis, sera invité sur le stand de PNYH pendant le global festival pour des rdv pro en B to B

global-toronto.jpg